Sunday 18 December 2016

ECF Book of the Year 2016

Matthew Sadler and Natasha Regan are co-authors of Chess for Life (Gambit Publications). This book won the ECF award for Book of theYear 2016.

Just after my stint at the conference, I made the short journey to Olympia to help present the award with my fellow judges Ray Edwards and Julian Farrand. It was the first time the three of us have been in the same place at the same time.

Matthew and Natasha did a lot more than merely turn up to accept the award. First they entertained a considerable crowd using illustrative examples from Chess for Life, using snippets from games featuring Capablanca, Alekhine and Arkell. They also took many questions from the inspired audience and followed up with a  friendly signing session.
Malcolm Pein introducing Natasha and Matthew
Matthew showed part of a powerful Capablanca game

Natasha explained some of the secrets behind Keith Arkell's successes

The ECF Book of the Year panel for the last two years:
Julian Farrand, Ray Edwards and me
Congratulations to the winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment